Like so many congregations our size, committees are the glue and the fire that keep us lively and functioning. The Board may be responsible for the heavy lifting—making policy, personnel management, resource and fiscal management; the committees are the muscle and brains that generate so much of the ideas and the energy that makes us who we are.

A lot of us are involved. It is a way to contribute, to be part of our community, to be social and to do positive things. The thought is, if you give a lot of your time and energy, the reward is in the satisfaction you get when the job is done.

If you are already working on one or more committees, you have realized the satisfaction of doing and of working with other members of our CBY family. If you haven’t thought about this before, please take a look at the many things we do and consider joining a committee—or maybe several committees. Those who are involved know that what they do is indeed, “for the sake of Heaven.” We are a community, a family of friends and colleagues and we are so much of what makes CBY a warm and welcoming place. If you are interested in participating, please contact the committee chair.

We have two types of committees: standing and other temporary committees established by the Board or president for the operation of the congregation. Standing committees are noted by an asterisk (*). For a detailed description of all our committees, click here.



92nd Street Y Linda Bloom
Administration Janice Fradkin
Adult Education* Barbara Slagowitz
Arts and Acquisition Sheri Farbstein &Twyla Sable
Community Calendar and Relations Helen Hauer
Capital Sub-Committee Jack Resnick
Care* Carol Carty & Janice Fradkin
Cemetery Ed Brager
Communications Barbara Meyer
Endowment Trustees Ted David
Executive* Judy Bluestone
Finance* Helen Hauer
Friends of Congregation Beth Yam Stan Bluestone & Pennie Meiselman
Fund Raising* Dave Solomon
House* Mark Britanisky
Legal Mike Mogil
Life Cycle Events Coordinator Ruth Hilsen, Randy Kurjan, & JoAnne Perchick
—– Outreach
Sue Gostanian & Candy Solomon
Marcia Frezza
Music Administration* Felicia Pascal & Jaquey Schmid
Nominating* Pennie Meiselman
Religious School* Rachel Pepin
Resources Jane Joseph & Barbara Slagowitz
Ritual* David Kurjan
Social Action* Janet Weingarten (Chair)
Alys Blumberg (Vice-Chair)
Ruth Hilsen (Vice-Chair)
Strategic Planning*
Task Force for Special Projects Michael Shapiro
Technical Infrastructure & Security Jeremy Press
Tidings David Kurjan
Website Michael Shapiro

Affililiate Organizations


Men’s Club Dave Solomon
Sisterhood Randy Kurjan