From the President, Pennie Meiselman

Pennie MeiselmanWelcome to Congregation Beth Yam's home on the Internet. Please take the time to read more about who we are.

Our Congregation, founded in 1981, is a Reform Jewish congregation and a member of the Union for Reform Judaism. Today, our membership has grown to over 300 families consisting of both full-time and part-time residents, from all over the United States. We are the only full service synagogue in southern Beaufort County; our membership is comprised of families from many different backgrounds. We are a congregation where diversity is embraced and made a part of our everyday life.

Congregational life at Beth Yam is a tapestry of spiritual, educational, cultural and social activities. In addition to Shabbat and Holiday services, we provide a wide spectrum of adult education programs, an adult choir, a religious school program and a broad range of social activities.

Rabbi Brad Bloom and his wife Linda have been with us since July 1, 2009. Rabbi Bloom was ordained at Hebrew Union College and a member of the Rabbinate for 30 years.  Rabbi Bloom is a prominent, active and visible member of the Lowcountry clergy and writes a bi-weekly column in the local paper, The Island Packet. As the leader of the Hilton Head Island/Bluffton Jewish community, feel free to call upon him with any questions you may have or for his assistance with life-cycle events.

We consider ourselves a family reaching out with love to all who want to join us. Friday night worship services customarily begin at 7:30 PM, however we also conduct a Kabbalat service at 6:00 PM once a month.  Religious School children will also participate once a month at 7:30 PM. When you are in town, please join us for services and experience the warmth that personifies Congregation Beth Yam and stay for our Oneg immediately following services. We, of course, welcome all visitors to our holiday programs as well. Please check our calendar on this website for the specific times of all of our services throughout the year.

We welcome you to any of our services.

Shalom, Pennie Meiselman

Board of Directorsboard 2017 18








Pennie Meiselman President
Elaine Lust 1st Vice President  
Jack Miller 2nd Vice President  
Helen Hauer Treasurer
Sharon Bass Recording Secretary  
Janet Weingarten Corresponding Secretary    
Twyla Sable Immediate Past President  


Ed Brager Doug Luba Michael Shapiro
Janice Fradkin Alan Meiselman Candy Solomon
David Kurjan Jeremy Press  Nadyne Ulicny

Ex-Officio Members

Brad Bloom Rabbi
Sue Gostanian Sisterhood President  
Alan Krumholz Men's Club President  

Past Presidents

Stan Bluestone    Donald Kahaner Jack Resnick
Ted David Seymour Lash* Howard Sherman*
Scottie Davis Bernice Lewin* Robert Stone
Paula Flink* Irwin Lindenbaum Michael Weingarten
 Linda Harrison Hank Noble  
Jane Joseph  Bert Reinhold*  
 * deceased    

Committees and Programs
Click here for Committee Information

All Contacts may be reached at